As of July 4th 2018, the Internet as we know it might be dead for good.
The European Parliament is passing a new Copyright Directive. Article 13 #CensorshipMachine will impose widespread censorship of all the content we share online. Art, fanfiction, parodies, remixes, mashups, memes, etc.. Anything that you do not hold the rights over will be taken down.
Article 13 would force all online platforms to police and prevent the uploading of copyrighted content, or make people seek the correct licenses to post that content. Internet platforms hosting large amounts of user-uploaded content must monitor user behaviour and filter their contributions to identify and prevent copyright infringement.
Such filters will be mandatory for platforms including YouTube, Facebook, Tumblr, Reddit and Instagram, but also much smaller websites.
Last Tuesday (19th June 2018) a group of more than 70 people who have played important roles in building the internet and developing it (Tim Berners-Lee, Vincent Cerf,
Jimmy Wales, Mitchell Baker…) into what it is today addressed an open letter to the members of the European Parliament:
“As creators ourselves, we share the concern that there should be a fair distribution of revenues from the online use of copyright works, that benefits creators, publishers, and platforms alike.
But Article 13 is not the right way to achieve this. By requiring Internet platforms to perform automatic filtering all of the content that their users upload, Article 13 takes an unprecedented step towards the transformation of the Internet from an open platform for sharing and innovation, into a tool for the automated surveillance and control of its users. […] The damage that this may do to the free and open Internet as we know it is hard to predict, but in our opinions could be substantial.”
I love the idea of Marinette forgetting she’s not in costume and losing all sense of personal space with Chat Noir. Like, she’s supposed to be a civilian who Doesn’t Know Him but she nudges him in the ribs with her elbow and pulls his tail and climbs all over him and pushes him away when he makes her laugh
and Adrien has no idea what the heck is happening but he likes it so he just rolls with it
you know what I think about a lot? Kevin being a total Big Brother towards Neil.
Kevin rustling Neil’s hair after he does something right
Kevin heartily smacking Neil’s back with a giant grin on his face after Neil shoots an awesome goal
Kevin and Neil shoving each other’s faces lightly on camera with happy smiles after winning yet another game
Kevin calling Neil a loser after Neil does something silly/stupid
Kevin standing in front of Neil with his arms crossed after some dick tries to get in Neil’s face
Kevin throwing the nearest object at Neil after Neil says something offensive to him but purposely missing because he doesn’t want to actually hit him
Kevin pulling Neil in for a giant bearhug after Neil has a breakdown (and Andrew isn’t around to comfort him)
Neil sending Kevin a stupid meme and Kevin replying with “why are you like this”
KEVIN CALLING NEIL “KID”
Kevin drunk-texting Neil saying “i kno i yell at u alot but i still lov u”
Neil texts back “I know, Kevin.”
Neil telling Kevin that he’s going to try something new and Kevin responds with “I know you can do it.”
Kevin calling Neil frequently and Neil jabbering about his adventures with Andrew and Kevin smiling while listening to how happy this boy and being so proud of all and how much he’s accomplished