– you just had a brilliant idea. it’s 3am
– bonus: you have something important the next day
– “wow I wrote so much, let’s see the word counter” 350 words “LIES”
– when your worst work gets the most attention
– “[AO3] You’ve got kudos!” emails are your lifeblood, water your crops, and clear your skin
– B L A N K P A G E S O F D O O M
– playing the entire story out in your head. never writing it
– watching or reading anything ever and imagining an au
– making playlists to write to. never writing
– getting an “[AO3] Comment on ______” email and doing the thing. you know the one
– headcanons. so many headcanons
– spending days or weeks on a piece
– watching the hit count rise and the kudos count stay on said work
– when will the kudos return from war
– You have a great idea for a new fic. You have seven half finished fics already.
– Your story idea is no longer relevant/appealing because of things that happened in canon.
– You have a great idea for a story and no idea how it should end
– You have a great idea for a story and know exactly how it should end and how it should begin and in the middle is a vast wasteland of ????????
– Trying to figure out an appropriately literary way to say “and then they do that thing, you know, that thing they do on the show where they make that face and it’s just adorable?”
– Worrying your headcanons reveal way too much about your deep dark secrets as a person.
– Writing down a headcanon that DEFINITELY reveals too much about your deep dark secrets as a person and editing it to make it seem a little more subdued.
– Having to decide between what you want for your faves and their happiness and what’s actually in character.
– Being stuck on an idea for 9000 years and then taking a shower and figuring it out instantly.
– Seriously what is it with being in the shower did you make a deal with one of the fae where you’re only a good writer while you’re naked??
– “What are you writing?” “Oh, you know…just…a thing….”
– What the hell you can just copy/paste formatted work on Ao3 you don’t have to put the html in yourself WHY DID NO ONE TELL YOU THIS, WHY DID IT TAKE SO LONG TO FIGURE OUT?
– Wanting to tell your non-fandom friends about your story ideas, but they can’t understand a word you’re saying.
– Wanting to tell your fandom friends about your story ideas, but they’re all reading your fics and you don’t want to give them spoilers.
– when the plot decides to do is own damn thing and suddenly you have to add three more chapters to accommodate it all and fuck it all, this was supposed to be a one-shot
– spiralling down wikipedia hole in the name of research
– what’s that word? The one that means, you know, the thing?
– When someone reads your back catalogue and leaves a nice comment on Every Single One
– not being able to hit a 2k word essay, but churning out a 10k word fic the same night
-there is a very specific AU in your drafts. No one wants this AU. YOU don’t want this AU. But you keep going back to it, working on it, swearing you’re never ever posting it
-you know that you’re lying and will eventually inflict it on people in hopes of validation anyway
– writing pages and pages of “fic” in group chats and having zero motivation to write out of the fic idea when you open up a word doc
Thank you for giving me an excuse to write KaiMax! ^_^V I hope the result is to your liking. Of the three I ended up using Caring for each other while ill and Forehead or cheek kisses.
Not at any particular spot in the timeline. I just have a weakness for Kai trying to be grumpy and being won over.
promising yourself that you’re gonna stop reading your otp fanfiction after you finish just one more chapter cause you need to go sleep but then the chapter ends in a cliffhanger and ur like
I read a lot of scripts. A lot. From professionals to aspiring writers to complete newbies. Features and pilots. Specs and treatments.
And 8 times out of 10 the fan fic that I’ve read over the last, oh, 15 years is leagues better than this stuff. It’s more inspired. It’s more compelling. It’s genre bending and creative and heartfelt. It’s well-paced and intense and funny and sexy and meaningful. It’s smart and thoughtful and good. It’s novel-quality. Better than, sometimes.
Rare is the script I don’t want to put down, but how often have we stayed up until 3am to get to the last chapter of a 100k fic? And it’s not even a fan fic author’s day job. This is what they do on the side. In their spare time. For free.
So my point is, fan fic authors, you’re good. You’re good writers and great storytellers. I know it doesn’t always feel like it, especially if you’re one of the authors who’s not a BNF and doesn’t get the notes/hits that a few do. And because some people still view fic as “not real writing.” You guys know the shit that gets made into movies. You’re better than that. So be better than that. If writing is what you think want to do, then just know you’re already doing it. You’ve already started.
And you’re more talented than you might think.
To all of my writer friends. This is so fucking true. ❤
Me: *rereading a fanfic for the 17th time* ah, yes. *sips tea* a true literary classic